skip navigation

2016-17 schedule announced

By Crimson Basketball, 09/13/16, 6:00AM CDT

Share

Features matchups with defending champs Hopkins (AAAA) and DeLaSalle (AAA)

northwest suburban Conference Games

Maple Grove will have a home-and-home series with IrondaleOsseo, Park Center, Robbinsdale Armstrong, Spring Lake Park, and Totino-Grace. MG faces Blaine, Centennial, Champlin Park, and Elk River only at MGSH this season. The Crimson will only face AndoverAnoka, and Coon Rapids on the road.

Non-conference, Section, and Featured Games

The season tips-off against non-conference Section 8AAAA opponent Rogers on Dec. 9. The Crimson was victorious in both matchups against the Royals last season, including 74-61 in the section semifinal. Also on the non-conference intra-section slate is a Saturday day game versus St. Michael-Albertville Feb. 11.

Immediately after the season-opener, all Crimson teams make a return appearance in the Breakdown Tip Off Classic. The Varsity squares off against defending AAA champion DeLaSalle as part of the all-day basketball showcase at Hopkins High School on  Saturday, Dec. 10.

All MGSH teams will also be making the annual trip to St. Cloud in late-December to compete in the Breakdown Granite City Classic. The two-day event starts with a varsity game against Lakeville South at St. Cloud State University on Dec. 29. The Crimson will matchup with Apple Valley for the third consecutive year, this time at Apollo High School on Dec. 30. The Crimson lost last season's thriller 86-80 in overtime.

Maple Grove travels to Hopkins on Jan. 14 for a non-conference Saturday evening clash against defending AAAA champion Hopkins. This is the featured game of the 6th annual Super 60 Showcase. These teams last faced each other early in the 2014-15 season, with the Crimson earning a 75-69 victory.

The popular girls/boys varsity doubleheader games against arch-rival Osseo will continue this season. The first is at MGSH on Jan. 20, with the return game at Osseo on Feb. 24. Maple Grove looks to avenge a pair of losses to the Orioles last season.

The venue for this season's annual NWSC crossover clash with conference power Champlin Park shifts back to MGSH on Feb. 6. Maple Grove defeated the Rebels last season, 65-58.

 

Update 9/14/2016: The Tip Off Classic will be held at Hopkins H.S. this season. The opponent will be DeLaSalle.

Update 10/08/2016: A home game with Robbinsdale Cooper has been added on Feb. 15.

Update 10/14/2016: The locations of the Osseo games have been switched, with the dates remaining the same. The Jan. 20 game will now be at MGSH, and the Feb. 24 game will be at OSH.

Update 11/7/2016: Due to a scheduling conflict, the Elk River game has been moved from Feb. 28 to Mar. 1.

2016-17 Maple Grove Crimson Boys Schedule

DATE OPPONENT TIME
Fri Dec 9 at Rogers 7:15 p.m.
Sat Dec 10 DeLaSalle
Tip Off Classic • Hopkins High School
7:00 p.m.
Tue Dec 13 IRONDALE
Teacher Appreciation Night
7:00 p.m.
Fri Dec 16 at Park Center 7:00 p.m.
Thu Dec 29 Lakeville South
Granite City Classic • St. Cloud State University
3:45 p.m.
Fri Dec 30 Apple Valley
Granite City Classic • St. Cloud Apollo High School
8:30 p.m.
Fri Jan 6 BLAINE 7:00 p.m.
Tue Jan 10 at Totino-Grace 7:00 p.m.
Thu Jan 12 SPRING LAKE PARK
Osseo-Maple Grove Basketball Association Night
7:00 p.m.
Sat Jan 14 Hopkins
Super 60 Showcase • Hopkins High School
8:00 p.m.
Tue Jan 17 ROBBINSDALE ARMSTRONG 7:00 p.m.
Fri Jan 20 OSSEO
Girls/Boys Varsity Doubleheader
7:30 p.m.
Tue Jan 24 at Anoka 7:00 p.m.
Fri Jan 27 PARK CENTER 7:00 p.m.
Tue Jan 31 at Spring Lake Park 7:00 p.m.
Fri Feb 3 CENTENNIAL 7:00 p.m.
Mon Feb 6 CHAMPLIN PARK 7:00 p.m.
Thu Feb 9 at Irondale 7:00 p.m.
Sat Feb 11 ST. MICHAEL-ALBERTVILLE 3:00 p.m.
Tue Feb 14 TOTINO-GRACE
Parents Night
7:00 p.m.
Wed Feb 15 ROBBINSDALE COOPER 7:00 p.m.
Fri Feb 17 at Robbinsdale Armstrong 7:00 p.m.
Tue Feb 21 at Coon Rapids 7:00 p.m.
Fri Feb 24 at Osseo
Girls/Boys Varsity Doubleheader
7:30 p.m.
Wed Mar 1 ELK RIVER
Senior Night
7:00 p.m.
Fri Mar 3 at Andover 7:00 p.m.